

V RAMACHANDRAN AWARDS FOR EXCELLENCE IN URBAN DECENTRALISATION

IN RECOGNITION OF GROUND-BREAKING WORK IN DECENTRALISATION IN INDIA'S CITIES AND TOWNS



Background

The Constitution (Seventy fourth) Amendment Bill was introduced in the Lok Sabha in September 1991. This is therefore the twenty-fifth year since "Nagara Raj" was ushered into our cities and towns. While on hand, India is urbanizing rapidly with over 800 million citizens estimates to live in our cities and towns by 2050, on the other hand, India's democracy is growing from strength to strength. Nagara Raj lies at the confluence of both these grand themes of this century. The twenty fifth year of Nagara Raj merits a renewed thrust on deepening our democracy, remembering the contributions of those who made it possible and recognizing the efforts of individuals and institutions who are today at the forefront of making democracy a living reality in our cities and towns.

Mr. V Ramachandran, (1931-2015) was a distinguished member of Indian Administrative Services. He retired as Chief Secretary of Kerala and Member, Second Administrative Reforms Commission. Mr. V Ramachandran was an expert in and lifelong advocate of decentralisation to Local Bodies. Mr. V Ramachandran was one of the most eminent advocates of decentralisation to local bodies, and played a seminal role in pushing the envelope on the administrative reforms in India, and especially on decentralisation to local bodies. Mr. V Ramachandran received the Padma Bhushan Award for meritorious civil service.

Mission

The Awards have been instituted in the memory of Mr. V Ramachandran, a doyen of decentralisation, to recognize ground-breaking work in decentralisation in urban context by both individuals and institutions, within and outside of government, and across levels of government.

The Awards seek to recognize outstanding work that either enables decentralisation in cities through laws, policies and institutions or operationalizes decentralisation in cities through execution and implementation.

Awards

The V Ramachandran Awards for Excellence in Urban Decentralisation were awarded in two categories, a National Award in the "Enabler" category and 4 Awards in the "Implementer" category. States were classified into 4 categories based on degree of urbanisation and decentralisation and the 4 implementer awards shall comprise one from each of these 4 categories of states.

In a federal system, unless we strengthen the local bodies, we will not be able to get the desired results, Centre is only the enabler, and the implementation lies with the local bodies. Democracy is all about people's participation and transparency and accountability is key any program in the cities. Strengthening the local bodies by enabling them by powers, functions and funds is crucial for the local bodies to function effectively.*

Venkaiah Naidu, Hon'ble Minister of Urban Development, Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation, Information & Broadcasting - Chief Guest at the V Ramachandran Awards Ceremony



Members of the Jury



SK Das IAS (retd.) (Chair of the Jury)

Former Secretary, Govt. of India

Mr. S K Das is a Member of the Governing Board of Janaagraha Centre for Citizenship and Democracy. He retired from the IAS as Secretary to the Government of India.



K T Rama Rao

Minister for I.T., Municipal Administration and Urban Development, Govt. of Telangana

Mr. K T Rama Rao, Cabinet Minister for IT E&C, MAUD, Industries & Commerce, Mines & Geology, Public Enterprises and NRI Affairs represents the Sircilla Assembly Constituency in Telangana.



Padma Ramachandran IAS (retd.)

Former Chief Secretary, Kerala

Mrs. Padma Ramachandran was the first woman Chief Secretary of Kerala. She also served as Vice-Chancellor, M.S. University, Baroda. Mrs. Ramachandran was married to Mr. V Ramachandran.



Amitabh Kant IAS

CEO, NITI Aayog

Mr. Kant earlier served as Secretary, Department of Industrial Policy and Promotion. He was also the Chairman of the Delhi Mumbai Industrial Corridor Development Corporation and the National Productivity Council.



Ashutosh Varshney

Professor, Brown University and eminent political scientist, author

Prof. Varshney is the Sol Goldman Professor of International Studies and the Social Sciences and Professor of Political Science at Brown University. He was the 2008 winner of the Guggenheim fellowship and the Carnegie Scholar award.



Niranjan Rajadhyaksha

Managing Editor, Mint

Dr. Rajadhyaksha also serves as Trustee & Ombudsman of the Takshashila Institution. He teaches contemporary Indian economics in the GCPP program at Takshashila.

Roll of Honour

Enabler Award



MADHYA PRADESH

Capacity Development of Urban Local Bodies through Cadre Reforms



JHARKHAND

Decentralisation through Constitution of Ward Committees and Sub-Committees



ODISHA

Creation of Municipal Cadres



14th FINANCE COMMISSION

Recommendations on Fiscal Decentralisation to Urban Local Bodies

Implementer Award



HYDERABAD

Implementing Accounting and Audit Reforms in Urban Local Bodies



DELHI

School Management Committees



PUNE

Participatory Budgeting



RAJASTHAN

Implementing Accounting and Audit Reforms in Urban Local Bodies



AMBIKAPUR

Swachh Ambikapur Mission



UTTAR PRADESH

e-nagarsewa – Web based Application for Citizen Services



Awards Ceremony









66 Mr. Ramachandran was a man of immense vision and dynamism. The entire Panchayati Raj legislation was meticulously drafted by him, his commitment was towards great financial delegation and devolution in the financial terms has acted as the catalyst and has facilitated for Kerala becoming a unique state for planning and decentralized delivery of work"

Amitabh Kant, CEO NITI Aayog - Keynote address at the V Ramachandran Awards Ceremony













Efficient management of urbanisation of cities is at the core of India's future growth story. Urbanisation so far has city centric, and it is important to rethink re-allocation of resources in the cities. This is an opportunity for other cities to learn from the examples of decentralisation that are being celebrated today."

Anil Baijal, Lieutenant Governor of Delhi at the V Ramachandran Awards Ceremony

From the last two years, SMC involves in overall development of all government schools. Our School Management Committee is the most vibrant example of community participation to build a better future in Education. This award goes to teachers, principals and each selfless members of the school management committee of Delhi who worked tirelessly for improvement in education."

Manish Sisodia, Deputy Chief Minister of Delhi - Winner of Implementer Award





<u>ታሉስሉ</u>ጵሮጵሉትሉ

JANAAGRAHA CENTRE FOR CITIZENSHIP & DEMOCRACY

Janaagraha Centre For Citizenship & Democracy 4th Floor, UNI Building, Thimmaiah Road, Vasanth Nagar, Bangalore 560052 Ph: +91-80-40790400, Fax: +91-80-41277104