Inaugural Edition of V Ramachandran Awards for Excellence in Urban Decentralization hosted by Janaagraha

Janaagraha hosted the inaugural edition of the ‘V Ramachandran Awards for Excellence in Urban Decentralization’ in New Delhi on the 2nd March 2017. The awards, instituted in the name of Padma Bhushan V Ramachandran, one of India’s finest IAS officers and a fervent advocate of decentralization, seeking to reward and showcase ground-breaking work in urban decentralization. We were honoured to have the presence of Mr. Venkaiah Naidu, Hon’ble Minister for Urban Development as the Chief Guest at the awards ceremony.

Mr. Anil Baijal, Lt. Governor of Delhi presided over the felicitation of awards to the winners. The jury comprised of Mr. K T Rama Rao, Hon’ble Minister, IT & Industries, MA & UD, Telangana, Mr. Amitabh Kant IAS, CEO, NITI Aayog, Ms. Padma Ramachandran IAS (retd.), Former Chief Secretary, Kerala, Mr. S K Das IAS (retd.), Member, Governing Board, Janaagraha, Prof. Ashutosh Varshney, Professor, Brown University and eminent political scientist and Mr. Niranjan Rajadhyaksha, Executive Editor, Mint.

Click here to watch highlights from Awards Ceremony.

Arun Kumar Gupta Dy Commissioner for Uttar Pradesh
Chief Guests with Jury and FOunders
Chief Guests
Dr Sameer Sharma IAS and MSS Somaraju receiving Awards for Hyderabad
Dr YV Reddy and Prof Pinaki Chakraborty
H R Pawar, CAO and G P Sharma recieving awards for Rajasthan
Kunal Kumar, Pune Municipal Commissioner and Avinash Madhale from Pune
Mathivathanan IAS receiving award for Odisha
Team from Delhi-Athishi Marlena, Adviser-Punya Srivastava IAS